Fall Into Comfort Foods – Seasonal Series

It was the first weekend of Fall and I’m beginning a seasonal series on comfort foods. I’ll explore comfort foods from my childhood, tastes I’ve acquired as I’ve gotten older, taking familiar comfort foods and working to make them healthier to help manage my diabetes, and comfort foods of various cultures (I’m going to tackle one of my favorite comfort foods later this Fall, Vietnamese Pho).

This weekend it was a twist on a comfort food favorite, stuffed cabbage rolls, turning it into stuffed cabbage soup. I grew up calling them Golumpkis, the Polish word for cabbage rolls. Cabbage rolls are common in Slovak, Hungarian, Ukranian, Russian, Lithuanian, German, Swedish, and Yiddish cuisines. Some of you may know these cabbage rolls as pigs in a blanket. To me, pigs in a blanket are little wieners rolled in crescent roll dough and baked, but I’ll save those for a later post!

The recipe included the same ingredients you would use for making stuffed cabbage rolls: ground beef, white onion, garlic, sweet paprika, thyme, petite diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, beef broth, green cabbage, brown rice, salt, and pepper. Another nice thing about this recipe is it only used one soup pot! The recipe called for no-salt tomato sauce and salt-free beef broth so without adding your own salt and pepper, it might taste too bland.

This dish also allowed me to read and learn more about onions. The recipe called for a white onion, something I hadn’t used in a long time. I’ve recently used green, yellow, and red onions but not white so that gave me a chance to do some research and reading. White onions have a milder taste and don’t keep as long as other types of onions.

image   image

You do have to like cabbage to enjoy this soup but you also need to like cabbage to enjoy stuffed cabbage rolls! I am a cabbage lover who enjoys coleslaws, red cabbage in chopped salads, and sauerkraut! I’ll be adding this soup to my comfort food rotation because it is quick, easy, and tasty. It only took an hour from start to finish, something that could be made on a week night. The most difficult thing was chopping one white onion and four cups of green cabbage. Plus the bonus of easy clean up makes this soup a winner! Kip appreciates easy clean up because when I cook, he cleans!

Leave a Reply

