I’ve Been Published in the Lutheran Church Ladies’ Cookbook

For my cooking challenge this past weekend, I wanted to stick with the comfort food theme (even though it was an unseasonably warm day, a record setting 85°). We grilled pork ribs and I grabbed one of my cookbooks, Recipes & Remembrances; Women of First Lutheran Church, Britton, South Dakota, 125 Years. This book was published in 2011 and was given to me by Kip’s mother, Marlene. I wanted to find a recipe for a comfort food side dish that would go well with the ribs. I was thinking scalloped potatoes but couldn’t find that so I landed on Swiss Cheese Potatoes.

image

I decided to look up Marlene’s name in the index and there it was! She contributed eight recipes to this addition. Most were familiar to me as I have enjoyed those foods over the years: Crab Salad, Duck Breast, 24 Hour Cole Slaw, Depepe (Frog Eye) Salad, and Harvard Beets. But one recipe was very familiar, Sauerkraut Soup. That was a recipe I shared with Marlene that I crafted based on sauerkraut soup I enjoyed on a trip to Prague, Czech Republic. I was honored that she thought it worthy for inclusion in the First Lutheran Church Ladies’ Cookbook.

A nice thing about church ladies’ recipes is they are generally simple and easy to follow. Not a lot of fancy items or a long list of ingredients. This held true for Swiss Cheese Potatoes.

Dice the potatoes.

image

Add chopped onion, olive oil, garlic powder, garlic salt, onion powder, salt, pepper, Parmesan cheese and mix.

image

image

Place on prepared baking sheet and bake for 45 minutes at 375°.

image

Top with Swiss cheese during the last few minutes.

image

Get your husband to grill the ribs to perfection.

image

image

And you have an easy and delicious side dish to accompany your ribs.

image

Oh, and it didn’t hurt that this day we hit a record setting 85° possibly being the last warm day of our grilling season.

So, dig out that church ladies’ cookbook your grandmother or auntie gave you and give it a chance!

2 comments

  1. Kathleen · October 14, 2015

    Cheese is my favorite food group!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Rice · October 14, 2015

    This looks delicious. What a great way to add a side dish to an 85 degree day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

